28th High Performance Computing Symposium (HPC 2020)

May 19–21, 2020 | George Mason University, Fairfax Campus, VA, USA

A track of the SCS Spring Simulation Conference (SpringSim'20) in cooperation with ACM/SIGSIM

Call for Papers

Paper submission December 16, 2019  January 22, 2020
Notification of acceptance February 17, 2020
Camera-ready paper March 4, 2020


The 2020 Spring Simulation Conference will feature the 28th High Performance Computing Symposium (HPC 2020), devoted to the impact of high performance computing and communications on simulations.

Advances in novel and heterogeneous architectures, high-end computers, large data stores are ushering in a new era of high performance parallel and distributed simulations. Along with these new capabilities come new challenges in computing and system modeling. The goal of HPC 2020 is to encourage innovation in high performance computing and communication technologies and to promote synergistic advances in modeling methodologies and simulation. It will promote the exchange of ideas and information between universities, industry, supercomputing centers, and national laboratories about new developments in system modeling, high performance computing and communication, scientific computing as well as simulation.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • High performance computing for Big Data analytics
  • GPU, accelerator and co-processor computing; multicore and many-core computing
  • Exascale challenges
  • Power and energy-aware computing
  • Cloud, distributed, and grid computing
  • High performance numerical methods and programming
  • High performance system modeling and simulation
  • Large scale visualization and data management
  • Tools and environments for coupling parallel codes
  • Reproducibility of application performance results


Original, high-quality technical papers are solicited for review, possible presentation and subsequent publication in the conference proceedings. Papers are max 12 pages long with single column format (see author's kit). Papers must not have appeared before (or be pending) in a journal or conference with published proceedings, nor may they be under review or submitted to another forum during SpringSim’20 review process.

All submissions will be peer reviewed and feedback will be provided. Authors of papers accepted at symposiums and their tracks are expected to attend the conference, present their work to their peers, transfer copyright, and pay a conference registration fee at the time their camera-ready paper is submitted. Papers registered and presented will be included in the conference proceedings, archived in the ACM Digital Library, and indexed in DBLP and SCOPUS.

Submit a paper at this link.


General Chair Dongyoon Lee, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA
General Vice-Chair Shaikh Arifuzzaman, University of New Orleans, USA
Program Chair David Easterling, University of Dayton Research Institute, USA
Program Vice-Chair Evan Coleman, Naval Surface Warfare Center, USA
Publicity Chair Wirawan Purwanto, Old Dominion University, USA


Jack Dongarra University of Tennessee & Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Lois Curfman McInnes Argonne National Laboratory, USA
Lukáš Polok Apple, Inc., USA
Layne T. Watson Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA
Josef Weinbub TU Wien, Austria


Maksudul AlamOak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Mario AntoniolettiThe University in Edinburgh, Scotland
Siddharth S. BhargavUniversity of Southern California, USA
Brett BodeThe University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Joshua BoothFranklin & Marshall College, USA
Bruno CarpentieriFree University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Laura CarringtonSan Diego Supercomputer Center, USA
Cheng ChangStony Brook University, USA
Zhongliang ChenAMD, USA
Frederic DesprezInria, France
Norbert EickerForschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
Nahid EmadUniversity of Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, France
Samantha FoleyUniversity of Wisconsin-La Crosse, USA
Jing GongKTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
Christopher HarrisThe Pawsey Supercomputing Centre, Australia
Saurabh HukerikarOak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Michael KlemmIntel, Germany
Hayk Shoukourian LeibnizSupercomputing Centre, Germany
Piotr LuszczekThe University of Tennessee, USA
Azamat MametjanovArgonne National Laboratory, USA
Gabriel MateescuVirginia Polytechnic and State University, USA
Wirawan PurwantoOld Dominion University, USA
Thomas RauberUniversity of Bayreuth, Germany
Li ShiSnapchat, Inc, USA
Alan StewartUniversitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
Vaibhav SundriyalIowa State University, USA
Massimo TorquatiUniversity of Pisa, Italy
Shun YaoGoogle, USA